Explore the School
Improvement KnowledgeBase.
  • Support for Equity and Diversity (C3/SC3 Projects Update May 2016) -

    Read more about the timeline the ongoing support C3, SC3, and collaborators have provided to build SEA leadership capacity to support districts and schools, with the ultimate goal of closing achievement gaps among diverse student populations and improving teaching and learning for all students. 

  • SEA Strategic Communications Collaborative -

    As part of a broader strategic communications initiative, C3 and SC3 facilitated a convening with the collaborative members, centers, and SEAs on July 1-2, 2015, entitled, “Strategic Communication: Navigating Policy and Politics in a Competing Information Environment.”


About Us

The Central Comprehensive Center (C3) at the University of Oklahoma is one of a national network of 22 federally funded centers. The C3 mission is to provide high quality/high impact technical assistance that helps build or expand the capacity of the state education agency (SEA), intermediary agencies, and other educational systems in Colorado, Kansas, and Missouri to implement, support, scale-up, and sustain reform efforts to improve teaching and learning.

C3 has several components designed to maximize responsiveness and ensure technical assistance (TA) is relevant, useful, and of high quality.

State Coordinating Councils (SCCs): C3's SCCs include members from each state education agency's (SEA's) leadership working with the Center to identify state priorities and tailor work to meet specific and changing needs. To maintain the flow of communication and plan TA services, each state's SCC meets regularly with C3 staff members, partners, and collaborators.

C3 Advisory Board: The C3 Advisory Board is composed of educational and community stakeholders from every state in C3's region. Members are appointed by each state's governor and commissioner/superintendent. The Advisory Board meets annually to provide feedback and guidance for TA services and regional work plan.

  • Dr. Richard Crandall, Colorado Department of Education, Commisioner of Education
  • Mr. Brad Neuenswander, Kansas State Department of Education, Deputy Commissioner
  • Dr. Randy Watson, Kansas State Department of Education, Commissioner
  • David Archer, State of Colorado, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor
  • Janae Ash, Pagosa Springs Middle School, Math Instructor
  • Dr. Kathleen Boyle-Dalen, Partnership for Regional Education Preparation-Kansas City, Vice President
  • Dr. Dennis Carpenter, Hickman Mills C-1 School District, Superintendent
  • Dr. Donald Claycomb, State Technical College, President
  • Ms Mona Coleman, Missouri School Boards' Association, President
  • Mr. Richard Garcia, Colorado Parent Coalition, Executive Director
  • Mr. John Gillispie, Missouri Research and Education Network, Executive Director
  • Mr. Dan Jorgensen, Colorado Department of Education, Accountability Support Manager
  • Mr. Ritchie Kracht, Clark County R-I School District, Superintendent of Schools
  • Dale McCall, Colorado BOCES Association, Executive Director
  • Dr. Debbie Mercer, Kansas State University, Dean of the College of Education
  • Dr. Margie Vandeven, Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, Commissioner
  • Mr. Kenneth Willard, Kansas State Board of Education, Kansas State Board of Education Member
  • Mr. David Wood, State of Missouri, House of Representatives - State Representative
Kerri Adams, Budget and Quality Assurance Coordinator
Ellen Balkenbush, Missouri Technical Assistance Liaison
Belinda Biscoe, Principal Investigator
Michael Carter, Administrative Assistant
Rosie Garcia-Belina, ELL and Migrant Education Technical Assistance Coordinator
Tammy Keefer, Web Developer
Kyle Lankford, Communications Coordinator
Gary Manford, Kansas Technical Assistance Liaison
Donna Richardson, Director
Carol Surber, Senior Research Associate
Hayley Testerman, Communications Specialist
Mark Turner, Logistics Coordinator